The Emerald Formula

Operations of Alchemy

The seven-stepped Emerald Formula is the basis of all the transformations in the Great Work.













Return to Top


The Emerald Formula is a seven-stepped process derived from the precepts of the Emerald Tablet that became the basis of all the alchemist's experiments.

The Emerald Formula

Although the alchemists went to great pains to conceal the true order of the steps of the formula, the correct order according to the Emerald Tablet is: Calcination, Dissolution, Separation, Conjunction, Fermentation, Distillation, and Coagulation.

The first four steps take place Below, in the realm of matter. The last three steps take place Above, in the realm of mind and imagination. This dynamic process is graphically depicted in the Ouroboros figure below. To find out more about a particular step, click on the corresponding operation in the drawing below:

Emerald Formula Ouroboros

LEARN MORE:  Related Topics | On the Internet 

Solar Contents Website Directory Search Website Terms & Symbols Recommended Links
Lunar Contents Home Page Artwork Poetry & Music Healing & Longevity

Emerald Formula

Three expressions of the Emerald Formula from the workbooks of medieval alchemists.



The Squaring of the Circle

The Emerald Formula unites the masculine and feminine, rational and intuitive forces.

Transformation of the Universe




The Philosopher's Stone